Testimonials

JIM GRECH, CHIEF COMMERCIAL OFFICER, CONSOL ENERGY INC

07/1/2014

A Capstone C200 Microturbine at the Fallowfield coal bed gas processing plant in Pittsburg Pennsylvania uses waste methane from the purification process to produce electricity while reducing the plant's carbon footprint. "The flow rate and methane concentration of the waste gas stream at the site are well suited to the capacity of Capstone's C200. "The microturbine is rated to operate at 33 percent electrical efficiency, based on a lower heating value. It's expected to have much lower maintenance costs and emissions than those from reciprocating engines."

View Case Study (pdf) ›

HEINRECH DORFER, RESORT OWNER, QUELLENHOF HOTEL RESORT, ITALY

04/25/2011

The Quellenhof Hotel Resort in Val Passiria, Italy, commissioned two Capstone C65 ICHP MicroTurbines® in a combined heat and power (CHP) application and labeled the "clean-and-green" hotel the first of its kind in Val Passiria. "Capstone microturbines are the most efficient turbines at an appropriate price. With their ultra-low emissions, microturbines fit our sustainability concept and support our energy saving goals."

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

STEVEN DOUGLAS, GENERAL MANAGER, YORK WASTEWATER TREATMENT PLANT, USA

02/22/2013

A Capstone C1000 and C600 operate on natural gas and biogas produced from York's 26 million gallons of sewage each day. "The Capstone microturbines produce 40 percent more power using the same amount of natural gas than our internal combustion engines, that's incredible. The Capstone turbines had some advantages over other manufacturer's turbines, one being that there was no liquid lubricant in the system at all. It was all air cooled, air lubricated, very low maintenance costs. The only thing that we routinely need to check is an air filter, and that's it. The other thing that people don't think about with a wastewater treatment plant is we also have the air to deal with. These microturbines emit so much less air pollution than the engines that we currently run to the point where I may not even have to report to the agency, the DEP, the amount of pollutants — it's going to be negligible."

View Case Study (pdf) ›

SERGEY KLYUCHARYEV, ENGINEERING DIRECTOR, TROLZA ECOBUS-5250, RUSSIA

06/26/2012

Powered with batteries charged by an onboard Capstone C65 MicroTurbine, the ECObus combines the maneuverability of a standard bus and the on-the-fly continuous power of an electric trolley or streetcar. "Urban transport must be green, comfortable and economical. That's why when creating a new ecobus, we drew our attention to Capstone microturbines. Microturbines enable increased mileage without refueling (the reduction of fuel consumption reaches up to 40%). Absence of oil and cooling fluids resulted in simpler maintenance and extended maintenance intervals, which significantly reduced our operational costs. At the same time, ecological features of microturbines ensure a low noise level and low NOx and CO emissions. Ecobuses obtain sheer benefits for use in resort areas and densely populated cities where ecological features of transport are of the highest priority."

View Case Study (pdf) ›

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF SPECIAL PROJECTS, SALEM COMMUNITY COLLEGE, USA

01/8/2010

To continue to serve as a Red Cross Disaster Relief Shelter, Salem Community College in New Jersey needed to install a back-up power system that provides electricity, cooling, and heating to Davidow Hall — the 65,000-square-foot campus building that serves as the county’s shelter during emergencies. In 2009, the College installed three Capstone C65 ICHP MicroTurbines, a 100-ton Thermax absorption chiller, and a Capstone APS. The energy system provides 80% of the massive building’s electricity and 100% of cooling and heating each day, and produces grid-disconnect back-up power in an emergency. “I’m a strong believer that if this technology was used at other colleges, K–12 schools, municipalities, and county government facilities, there would be significant money saved,” Raymond Constantine, Executive Director said. “That means money going back to the community. I’m excited we’re at the forefront of energy innovation and a model for others to follow.”

View Case Study (pdf) ›

DAVID JOINER, PUMPS AND SERVICE, FARMINGTON, NEW MEXICO, USA

10/10/2007

Many thanks to all who helped on getting the Ramon Station up and running. I spoke to the customer and things are working very well. The Capstone MicroTurbines are providing the power for a booster station on an oil pipeline. The customer is currently running 11 Capstone microturbines with the rest in reserve. They are able to look at the location system from the other locations so they are very happy with the APS (Advanced Power Server). They have been filling the 30,000-gallon Propane tank every 5 days. Because of running the microturbines, they hope to get it to the planned 10–14 day filling schedule saving them a bundle in propane and delivery charges.

 

View Case Study (pdf) ›

GERARD DEEN, FOUNDER DEEN SHIPPING, EUROPEAN INLAND WATERWAYS

05/1/2012

Two liquid natural-gas fueled Capstone C30 MicroTurbines onboard the Argonon Type C tanker in the Rhine River in Europe, operate in an N+1 setting and serve as the main electrical power supply. The onboard clean-and-green microturbines, meet strict emission regulations without additional exhaust aftertreatment. "Argonon Shipping strives to be an innovative, socially-responsible company and Capstone microturbines absolutely fit our mission to have a clean-and-green profile."

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

JÜRGEN MAHR, DEPUTY PLANT MANAGER, WINTERSHALL HOLDING GMBH, GERMANY

04/15/2014

A C65 microturbine produces electricity for Wintershall Holding GmbH, in Großaitingen, Germany and uses heat exhaust to warm facility buildings, process heating, and to heat pipelines. "We are producing electricity from the turbine which we use here in the facility. We are producing about 40 percent of our electricity needs here at the plant. In the future we are thinking about using the heat from the turbine for our facilities, building, process heat, and also for heating our pipelines. We are very satisfied at the moment with the turbine and what we got as a result of the test."

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

Stephan Hunz, CEO, Grid Operation & Electricity Department, enwor energy & water spot GmbH

06/11/2014

Located in Würselen, Germany, Aquana Sauna and Recreation Pool features a family-friendly wellness, sauna and leisure spa and an 1,800-square-meter (2,153-square-yard) water park. To meet the high electrical demand necessary to maintain comfortable water temperatures and operate the abundant rides and amenities in an environmentally friendly way, a C200 natural-gas fueled Capstone Microturbine® in a combined heat and power (CHP) application was installed. "It is quite obvious green technologies with low emissions and high efficiencies take center stage, and microturbines fulfill all the requirements—especially in CHP plant applications."

Tobias Neidhardt, CEO of A. Obenhauf GmbH & Company, Germany

03/14/2014

Four Capstone C65 microturbines installed in a combined heat and power (CHP) system supply thermal power and electricity to the cardboard manufacturing plant, A. Obenauf GmbH, in Bad Harzburg, Germany. "We looked at other products, but they did not deliver the high temperatures needed. We searched a long time, but other systems–like gas motors–had the heating energy on the wrong temperature value for us. Because we need consistently high temperatures for our drying systems, we choose the Capstone turbines."

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

Samuel Zarate, Corporate Maintenance Director, The Royal Playa del Carmen and the Gran Porto Real hotels, Mexico

03/5/2014

As part of its energy savings initiatives, management of the 5-star hotels, which sit side-by-side on a protected stretch of swim-friendly beach in the Riviera Maya, decided to install a new power supply that was reliable, efficient and could lower both energy costs and emissions. In late 2011, a liquid-propane fueled dual-mode C1000 Capstone Power Package® was installed in a combined cooling, heating and power application. "We considered installing additional generators for peak generation plus solar energy for heating of the pools. But when learned that the C1000 could lower our energy consumption while provide us with additional services—such as hot water and steam for laundry services—by utilizing waste heat, we knew we had found the answer we were looking for.

View Case Study (pdf) ›

Paul Swam, Technical Coordinator for the Sport Centre De Scheg, Netherlands

02/3/2014

The Sport Centre De Scheg in Deventer, Netherlands rely on a C200 Capstone microturbine installed in a combined heat and power (CHP) application for operation. "Our reciprocating generator was prone to failure, required a lot of maintenance, and cost a lot of money. The Capstone turbine we have provides us extra heat and power. An important part of our decision was we wanted clean energy production, and the emissions are very low from this turbine."

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

Andreas Kirsenhofer, Technical Plant Manager, Machland Fruit and Vegetable Delicacies GmbH, Austria

01/15/2014

A Capstone C200 microturbine installed in a combined cooling, heating, and power (CCHP) application generates electricity for the Machland food manufacturing plant and exhaust heat used as combustion air for an onsite steam boiler. "The energy costs of our products are very high and our plant equipment was outdated. We searched for a combined solution of turbines and a steam boiler to save energy costs. A benefit with the Capstone microturbine was the option to operate in stand-alone mode in case of grid failure. We are very successful with our project."

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

Ronald Hite, District Manager, Southern California Edison, USA

11/6/2013

Twenty-three Capstone C65 microturbines provide prime power to Southern California Edison's Avalon site on Catalina Island. "What the Capstone microturbines do for Southern California Edison on Catalina Island is allow us to meet the islands electrical demand and frequency moment by moment perfectly. The fact that this is an isolated microgrid on an island means I have to meet demand continuously, 24/7, with voltage and frequency."

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

James Jenkinson, Swineline Farm, South Africa

09/10/2013

The installation and operation of one Capstone C65 microturbine unit has helped reduce electricity usage at Swineline Farm, an anaerobic waste treatment facility. "The technology is top notch. I was sold immediately the day I saw how it connects to the grid — how easily it connects — and how little maintenance there is on the whole plant. Installation of this turbine has reduced my electricity usage by a good 30 percent, up to 35 percent. The farm is a very small farm when you are looking at effluent production. We have only got one turbine installed but by getting the process more effective it could get to the point that I can reduce my electricity usage by even more."

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

Toni Habermacher, Production Manager, Gefu Produktions AG, Switzerland

07/26/2013

When faced with a surplus of milk sugar, Gefu created an opportunity to generate onsite electricity and heat. Using 12 Capstone CR65 microturbines installed in a combined heat and power (CHP) application, Gefu converts waste milk sugar to generate about 6.5 Gigawatt Hours (GWh) of electricity. "We didn't know exactly what to do with the milk sugar. So, five years ago we decided to build a biogas plant to use the milk sugar as energy, and use the biogas in microgas turbines to produce electric energy. The main point behind this idea was to produce cattle feed without using or producing CO². We wouldn't have been able to do it if we hadn't built the biogas plant, and if we hadn't chosen the Capstone turbines, a new steamer, and hot air for spray drying plant. That gives us the efficiency, and that makes us the leader in producing cattle feed without CO²."

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

Raffaello Di Martino, Technical Director, CEM Ambiente, Italy

03/12/2013

Five highly efficient C65 microturbines in a combined head and power (CHP) application power the first-ever installation at an Italian landfill in Italy. "We chose the Capstone microturbines because the production of methane became so low. Classic engines can't run on biogas that contain less than 30 percent methane. We are very happy with the Capstone microturbines because of their low cost, low maintenance, and the benefit to this beautiful area."

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

Alexander Yasyulya, Chief Engineer, Yamarka Shopping Mall, Russia

08/1/2012

Eleven natural gas-fueled microturbines provide heat and power to the 30,000-square-meter (323,000-square-foot) Yarmarka Shopping Center in Ukhta, Russia. "We analyzed existing products in the distributed generation market and chose Capstone microturbines for several reasons. First: the construction of the shopping mall was performed in stages during several years and microturbines gave us an opportunity to gradually increase power generation as the mall grew reducing initial capital costs. Second: microturbines obtain some excellent operational features — they do not demand much maintenance and 24/7 presence of personnel, are highly automated, have remote control capabilities. Also, Capstone microturbines do not need oil and coolants for operation and consequently we eliminated the need to replenish oil and dispose wastes. Finally, combination of technical and environmental characteristics offered by Capstone microturbines made them an indisputable leader when we made our decision."

View Case Study (pdf) ›

Andrey Naumov, Chief Power Engineer, Yakutcement, Mohsogollokh, Russia

07/16/2012

To establish power stability and reduce energy costs, Yakutcement — the local cement and crushed stone manufacturing business — installed two Capstone C1000 Power Packages in a highly efficient CHP application. "Capstone microturbines significantly increased the reliability of our boiler house, which is a very important facility of the local communal infrastructure because it supplies heat not only to our plant, but also to the nearest village. Microturbines generate electricity of high quality for the boiler's equipment, thus prolonging its lifecycle and reducing risks of emergent maintenance. This solution allowed us to cut our power costs and increase energy efficiency through the rational use of fuel resources."

View Case Study (pdf) ›

Alexander Skorokhodov, President, BPC Engineering, Russia

05/1/2012

To establish power stability and reduce energy costs, Yakutcement installed two Capstone C1000 Power Packages in a highly efficient CHP application. "Today the facility saves money as the cost to generate onsite electricity using microturbines is substantially less than the local grid electricity rates."

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

Kevin Stevenson, Manufacturing VP, Engineering, FDS Manufacturing, USA

03/16/2012

FDS Manufacturing Company in Pomona, California, selected six Capstone C65 MicroTurbines® to meet the facility's forecasted combined cooling, heating, and power (CCHP) needs, and significantly shrink its carbon footprint and energy bill — a cleaner way to do business. "Ultimately, our microturbines make us more competitive and conscious of the environment. They've been a great sales tool and resource that supports our intent to be a green manufacturer."

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

Rob Franklin, General Manager Sustainability, Western Water, Australia

11/1/2010

The wastewater treatment facility in the shire of Melton in Melbourne is Australia’s first to install a microturbine with a combined heat and power (CHP) system, which helps transform sewage water into carbon-neutral recycled water, electricity, and heat. “We aim to become a zero-waste recycling plant by 2017. Capstone’s clean-burning, low-emission microturbine allows us to turn waste into a resource in the most innovative way. The reliable and low maintenance turbine has surpassed our expectations. This great success has motivated us to continue looking for other opportunities to further reduce greenhouse-gas emissions within other recycled water treatment plants.”

Marvin Dixon, Director of Engineering, Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia, USA

07/27/2010

The world-renowned Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia installed three C65 ICHP Capstone MicroTurbines® with Heat Recovery Modules to capture the microturbines’ waste heat as part of a CHP application and generate the hotel’s own onsite power. “This new process with microturbines allows for more control over heat distribution and BTUs. “With such a highly efficient process, the hotel is able squeeze every dollar out of each BTU. Instead of dumping rejected heat into the atmosphere, we can reuse it. During the first two months of operation we saw a cost avoidance of over US $80,000.”

View Case Study (pdf) ›

Nicolas Pouillaude, President of Revico, Cognac, France

07/19/2010

A C800 Power Package is fueled by methane from the treatment of sludge waste (from grape skins and stems) following the distillation of wine to make Cognac. “We were very satisfied with how quickly we were able to produce electricity from the C800 microturbine without a long testing period. We’ve had great success with our investment in the Capstone microturbine. For many years, Revico has been a pioneer in environmental protection in the region. With the Capstone C800, we continue to be first-in-class in protecting the region’s environment. In fact, French and European officials consider the innovative Capstone turbine system so environmentally friendly they offered Revico a significant subsidy to install the system.”

View Case Study (pdf) ›

Pablo Escalante, Spokesperson, YPFB Transporte SA, Bolivia

07/14/2010

Since 2006, YPFB Transporte has installed 11 Capstone C65 MicroTurbines at pipeline compressor stations across the country. “Reduced maintenance on the Capstone microturbines is very important because our compressor plants are usually far from cities. The microturbines reduce interruption in the service we provide, which makes our service more trustworthy. Maintaining microturbines costs about 40% less than a normal generator. We save time and money by not needing to maintain the units all the time.” He indicated the microturbines are expected to pay for themselves in approximately five years.

View Case Study (video) ›

Andreas Fidelak, Director, St. Joseph Hospital, Prüm, Germany

04/22/2010

When officials at St. Joseph Hospital chose to be the first in Germany to install a Capstone C65 MicroTurbine® in a combined heat and power (CHP) application, they hoped for and got great results. The Capstone C65 CHP system saves the hospital €22,500 (US$30,642) annually in energy costs. “Our efforts to provide the Prüm population with high-quality, affordable medical services was forefront in our minds as we invested in this new equipment for the hospital. We wanted to make the best decision for our patients and our bottom line. The hospital’s technical director believed a turbine would be the best economical decision in large part because of the lower maintenance costs.”

View Case Study (pdf) ›

Joe Verschleisser, Plant Engineering Manager, Astor Chocolate, USA

09/8/2009

Astor Chocolate, housed in a 120,000-square-foot building in New Jersey, turned to Capstone Turbine Corporation for reliable power and to reduce its carbon footprint. The company installed five C60 MicroTurbines® in 2005 in a combined cooling, heating, and power (CCHP) application. The microturbines produce 300kW of electricity, which is 50–80% of the facility's power needs. More than 2 million BTUs of thermal energy provide the hot water supply, heat the building, and support a 100-ton absorption chiller air conditions the building. "We installed the microturbines to enhance our already developed CHP design and to go further 'green' with the latest technology," Verschleisser said. "The Capstone microturbines have paid for themselves and proven to be dependable and reliable. Astor is proud of our accomplishments in going 'green'."

View Case Study (pdf) ›

Valeriy Ignatenko, Chief Power Engineer for Sport Center Igora, Russia

08/14/2009

The luxury ski resort, Sport Center Igora, in the Leningrad region near St. Petersburg, Russia is 54 kilometers from the nearest power line. Today, 30 Capstone C60 and 8 C65 MicroTurbines provide all power needs for the resort. In addition, thermal energy from the microturbines heat buildings and supply hot water through a combined heat and power (CHP) application “The ski resort is far from the utility grid, so connection to the grid would be very problematic and not economically viable. We selected Capstone microturbines as the power-generating equipment because of their high level of reliability, ease of operation and maintenance, and low operational costs.”

View Case Study (pdf) ›

Jerry Todd, Project Manager & Design Engineer, Dominion Transmission, USA

06/1/2009

Three C60 ICHP Capstone MicroTurbines were first installed in 2004 at a Dominion Transmission natural-gas compressor station in Pennsylvania as part of a combined heat and power system. Four years later, the three microturbines were upgraded to C65 ICHP units to provide 130kW of power — enough electricity and heat for all buildings onsite. "The CHP with Capstone microturbines runs really well. The microturbines use less gas and produce more heat than the boilers. We're generating our own electricity and heat for the system. In essence, the heat for the hot water is free. With the microturbines, we've more than doubled our efficiency and don't use as much fuel."

Fabio Dalla Villa, Chief Technology Officer, Cossato Spolina WWTP, Italy

05/12/2009

A biogas fueled Capstone CR200 MicroTurbine will supply the wastewater treatment plant, located in Cossato, Italy, with 1.7 million kWh of electrical power and 2.3 million kWh of thermal energy annually — all while reducing the plant’s greenhouse-gas emissions. “I discovered that turbine systems have much lower maintenance costs, and that they have much better performance in hot-water production. You must know that we need hot water in the waste treatment process. And, I must admit, I am very interested in new, original systems. Capstone was very convincing,” Dalla Villa said. “I prepared the system for expansion. I plan to demonstrate with indisputable numbers that a second CR200 will be economically useful. In the meantime, I can already show the economic evidence of our investment so far. With the micro-CHP plant, we will save a lot of money with electricity self-production and the green certificates incentives.”

View Case Study (pdf) ›

John Lehne, Building Manager, Ronald Reagan Presidential Library, USA

05/8/2009

Commissioned in 2005, the CCHP installation consists of 16 Capstone C60 MicroTurbines that provide the Library, located in Simi Valley, California, with 95% of its energy needs. “A lot of people didn’t know about this type of system when we first installed it. We’ve now had the system three years and it gives us the efficiency we were looking for,” Lehne said. “Exhaust gas from the running microturbines is collected and goes into the absorption chiller. The chiller has a closed water loop through it, which chills and gives us cold water for our air-conditioning system. Some of the turbines have a hot water loop on them, which gives us heat for our building as well. It provides power for the full campus and is clean burning. Overall we are pleased with the performance of the turbines, the efficiency of their electricity-generating capabilities, and the hot water they provide to the facility.”

View Case Study (pdf) › View Case Study (video) ›

Pablo Escalante, End User and Authorized Service Provider

07/20/2007

In qualification from 1 to 10, the qualification is 9: Clean and reliable energy, that has been accepted like a serious alternative for production of electrical energy at the Transredes facilities in Bolivia. This is what makes this technology a solid candidate to replace the traditional energy production with generators and establishes itself like a traditional product for the coming projects. We have a lot of inquiries from other petroleum companies about the installation of these products, which makes me believe that there is a strong interest in microturbines and in how they perform in the field and how do they affect productivity and the environment.

Frank Vitone, HVAC Supervisor, LA Pierce College, United States

06/12/2007

In 2002, LA Pierce College added six 60kW Capstone MicroTurbines next to their existing Central Plant Building to facilitate energy savings, and dependable and clean power as the power needs of the campus increased. A second CHP system was also commissioned in the Men's Gym that provides heat to the outside swimming pool by using waste heat from four 30kW Capstone MicroTurbines. "Since that time, we have had a full service agreement with Capstone every year," Vitone said. "I have found this service to be extremely valuable in keeping up with advanced technologies, technical support, and remedial and scheduled maintenance. The quick response and skilled technicians that Capstone has provided has made downtime almost a thing of the past. I look forward to working with the friendly staff at Capstone as Pierce College installs additional power generating system in the future," added Vitone.

View Case Study (pdf) ›

City of Greenfield

05/11/2007

The City of Greenfield uses four 60kW stand alone MicroTurbines to maintain the complete water system for the city; from pumping out of the ground, to maintaining pressure and supply to their customers. Why are the microturbines used in stand alone? In the first two weeks of May alone, the local utility had 16 power outages — caused not only by some higher than normal winds, but also by two separate car accidents that required replacement of power poles to restore the electrical utility. The microturbines continually supplied water while the local electrical power was down. The city loves the microturbines and their reliability. They indicated to Capstone's Sr. Field Service Technician, Kurt Mills, that they are adding an additional 1.5 million-gallon water storage tank and considering additional microturbines to maintain the supply and pressure at the new tank site.

 

John Fox, Product Manager, UTC Power

05/2/2007

John Fox of UTC Power, a United Technologies Corp. (NYSE:UTX) company, reports that UTC Power's fleet of combined cooling, heating, and power systems utilizing Capstone MicroTurbines is performing at an MTBF above 10,000 hours. "We are pleased with the quality and reliability of our PureComfort® systems in the field," Fox said. "We're gaining a lot of experience in diverse locations and this milestone demonstrates the soundness of the technology." Mr. Fox was quoted in Capstone's press release entitled "Capstone MicroTurbine Fleet Surpasses 15 Million Operating Hours,"